2011 Screen Awards


WA Screen Awards Special on WTV Channel 44 Diana Warnock and Damien Spiccia – Winner of the Bill Warnock Award See the glamour of the red carpet, the drama of the awards ceremony, the joy of the winners and the buzz of the party! WTV has put together a half-hour special capturing the highlights of the 2011 WASA’s.


It was great night for the screen industry to celebrate the achievements of the past year by emerging and professional filmmakers. The program features interviews with

nominees and recipients, industry identities and the Minister for Culture and the Arts, the Honourable John Day. The special will be broadcast on WTV, Channel 44 on Wednesday April 6th at 8.30pm and repeated on Saturday April 9th at 5.00pm. The broadcast is proudly sponsored by ScreenWest and supported by Central Institute of Technology, Curtin University, Murdoch University, The WA Screen Academy and the University of Notre Dame. 2

4th WA Screen Awards – Winners

20th March 2011 Held at the Octagon Theatre. To a near capacity audience host, Russell Woolf lead proceedings for the third year in a row.

Here are the winners:

  • The Bendigo Bank Young Filmmaker of the Year – Mat de Koning
  • The Central Institute of Technology Award for Best Film Bystander – Keir Wilkins
  • The University of Notre Dame Award for Best Director – Burleigh Smith
  • Then She Was Gone The Coopers Award for Best Actor – Wayne Davies, Good Pretender
  • The Mad Fish Award for Best Actress – Olivia DeJonge, Good Pretender
  • The Central Institute of Technology Award for Best Tertiary Film – Still Take You Home, Emilia Jolakoska
  • The Curtin University People‚Äôs Choice Award – Betrand the Terrible
  • Best Short Animation – Chat Noir, Kate Beverley
  • Best Cinematography – Antony Webb
  • The Billabong Best Original Music – Jonathan Warwick, The Long Road Home
  • Best Production Design – Louise Brady, The Luger Story Best Sound
  • Adrian Jolly Family Tree Best Editing – Antony Webb, The Dinner Meeting
  • The Murdoch University Award for Best Secondary Film – The Crossroad, Clayton Orgles & Karina Brown
  • Best Screenplay – Mike Hoath & Maziar Lahooti, Good Pretender
  • Best Documentary – Pain is Temporary, Pride is Forever, Joshua Lee
  • The RTRFM Award for Best Music Video – Ticky Ticky Boom, Erika Jellis, Bridget Turner & Ben Young
  • Industry Awards:
  • Bill Warnock Award – Beyond The Pale, Damien Spiccia
  • Lotterywest Award for Outstanding Achievement in Drama – Little Sparrows, Bolderpictures
  • Lotterywest Award for Outstanding Achievement in Factual Production – Kuru: The Science & The Sorcery Siamese
  • Lotterywest Award for Outstanding Achievement by a Practitioner – Ric Curtin
  • Lotterywest Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Industry – Jill Perryman

Leave a Reply